My Feminist Life in GIFS: Feminist Documentaries

[Potential Spoilers for Pride and Prejudice, Hunger Games Trilogy, Disney’s Kim Possible and 10 Things I Hate About You]

Sometimes, my Netflix recommendations look like this:

Netflix recommendations based on "Recently Watched."

Netflix recommendations based on “Recently Watched.”

Yes, I do watch Phineas & Ferb. But in other, more important news, I like to watch a lot of documentaries, and go figure–I sometimes, a lot of the time, tend to watch documentaries about feminism.

Which has inspired this post. You’re welcome.

1.)

When starting to watch the 2011 documentary Miss Representation, I felt like:

But then I start having questions like:

Where did those stats come from?

Is this leaning towards male-bashing?

But nevertheless, I continued watching…

2.) It’s an insightful piece. I know this because I began to think of all the “feminist” movies I watched growing up, and how ultimately, the female character’s story line was dependent on the male’s.

Exhibit A

1999’s “Ten Things I Hate about You,” starring Julia Stiles.

She ends up Heath Ledger.

 

Exhibit B

2005’s “Pride and Prejudice,” starring Keira Knightly

She ends up with Matthew Macfadyen.

 

Exhibit C

Disney’s animated series, “Kim Possible.”

She ends up with Ron.

 

 

Exhibit D

Katniss Everdeen in Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games Trilogy. The film adaption stars Jennifer Lawrence.

We all know what happens.

 

But also, side note please?

Link here if you wanna know more.

Anywho.

Back to 3.)

Yeah, so this documentary had a lot of questionable facts. I don’t doubt the fact that women are misrepresented in almost every facet of our culture even in stereotypical gender roles like cooking, cleaning and teaching. But Miss Representation, essentially misrepresents how women are misrepresented.

The documentary features little ethnic diversity, with only three minority female voices to add to the discussion. At some points, it is as though the documentary falls short to the pitfalls but easily and readily discussed white feminism, prominent in the first and second waves of the movement.

All in all, the documentary was good. However, providing realistic and thorough solutions, not so much.

4.)

But then I think of BeyoncĂ©’s assertion:

But after the video, I’m like,

Naw B, women run the world.

 

Leave a Reply

